On the road to self-design

On the road to self-design

Do you ask yourself : What is it that I really want? What I want to be? What should I study? What to do next?

Well… you are not the only one. Recently, guided by my badgering curiosity, I went to a presentation of a project. I was interested by both the topic of the meeting and the people I was about to meet. The cross-section of personalities was quite unpredictable and the urge to observe and find my own place in the line – huge.

For over 3 hours, we were being convinced how wonderful it is to help others in finding their own, true “self”, to uncover their willingness of career fulfilment and, in a close relationship with a customer, draw a perfect pink picture of their new career.

The cross-section of personalities

What could not escape my attention, and I thought everyone else in the room had missed, was that this group featured confusion, uncertainty and timid portion of seeking true self. There met young mothers already gone through a long maternity leave; timid students talking in quiet, trembling voices about a standstill, right before their diploma defence; and a number of employees from X, Y and Z companies who, somehow, were quickly bored by a monotony of yet another job.

All that time I was wondering how (without a definite definition of oneself, who you are, who you want to be in the job market) can one design a career for other people? Is becoming a counsellor, a coach or a career designer a cure for own dilemmas? Will a diploma for a few thousand zlotys, in an angelic way, help us believe in ourselves? Will it makes us into heroes who run to the rescue of people like us?

Career designers they were called

For me the presenters lacked conviction. Their attitude, the words, the stories told, where I could not notice any specifics, made me turn to a girl sitting next to me and say, “During these 3 hours, I have fallen asleep three times and died twice.” Please, someone explain, how a seemingly experienced, qualified psychologist tries selling a product to a group of complete strangers without knowing what is the psychology of success? Oddity. Absurd. How can you not think of it as a joke?

It was also not the first time when I had to face an unacceptably colloquial language used in a professional presentation. Maybe I’m just old-fashioned, and I dont know the latest communication trends, but all these repetitive ugly words did not establish any friendly common ground of understanding. I thought that this is how one makes up for the lack of vocabulary and cover up the lack of preparation.

I was squirming with impatience in my chair and, contrary to what was happening around me, I was defining myself as a person who had happily passed the stage of professional unruliness and slowly but steadily had been working towards her objectives. If any of my close friends reads this note, they surely notice and agree that this is what I usually wish to people: reach your goals.

These wishes are to encourage the one receiving the wishes to reflect and to find an answer to the key question: Quo vadis. Do I know what I want and where I am going next?

Orginally published in Polish here

One thought on “On the road to self-design

Skomentuj

