On people who create us from the backstage

On people who create us from the backstage

Taking risks, moving cities, relocating – how do I  find home?

Some say that the need for a change is linked to the rising need of changing the environment.

Just like that, overwhelmed with a pigeon crowd, suffocated by a beastly smog, a few months ago I moved from Kraków to Wrocław. Probably inserting Warsaw here would seem more natural – the city shines like the North Star on the job market sky.IMG_20150512_100236

I cannot avoid the impression that many do not appreciate the potential that is not hidden in the places we live in but in ourselves.

I have heard from several people that moving to a new city where one hardly knows anyone is a display of incredible courage. This opinion led to a reflection, not upon my courage or courage itself, but upon people who subjectively speak the opinion.

Should such opinions decide whom to send to the jungle, and whom to Disneyland? Or, does surrounding oneself with people who play safe, or rather keep only to themselves stimulate our development? It is worth considering what role our friends and acquaintances play in shaping us.

What if no one ever took risks?

It happened to me a few times to shout like Archimedes while enthusiastically sharing my ideas for the future just to take a bucket of cold water on my head later. Do you know how to quickly extinguish someone’s enthusiasm with sentences originating from the human nature of giving advice?

“What do you need it for?”

”How much does social security cost?”

“And then what?”

I imagine that if Columbus’ friends, we may call them Diego and Domingo, told him, “Christ, you to India? “Why, with whom, what for? “Better sit at home and stop hallucinating!” and were more persuasive, and he did not want to reach a set goal, India not America, you would not eat a schnitzel and potatoes for Sunday dinner.

Those who dampen our enthusiasm by explaining that criticism and warnings brings you down to earth do not realise that it is more probable to get somewhere without going than humanity’s survival without our success and cautionary tales of people around us.

Of course, I am not talking about a serious threat to life or health but that a man who wishes to accomplish something in their life will take the explorer’s risk. Fortunately, after numerous observations and by my own example, I can say that we tend to spend time with people more or less similar to us. When I discover that I am surrounded by moaners it is time to consider if I am not a moaner myself. Do I want to be one and if I can do anything about it?

Thus we should strive to achieve things that are possible or might be possible. But let us not forget that our ambition to make a difference and risk exposure are just proving that live is either a daring adventure or nothing at all! Obviously, we cannot burn bridges whenever someone dares to criticise us. Do not be haughty.

Criticism used in good faith, but often incompetently, does not mean they wish us ill. It seems to me that the proverb, “When in Rome, do as Romans do,” is very much true because, whether we like it or not, we adapt our personal software to our co-workers, simply not to stand out from the rest and get along better.

On the other hand, one can hear here and there, “keep your head low”, “respect your job”, “they pay you for that?”, addressed to the new, energetic team members evokes a smile and reminds me of one of my favourite comic strips.

Geese Wedge

I have read recently about how nature, through evolution, developed a perfectly functioning model of geese wedge, where each goose plays an important role in the overall success of the team. I looked at this idea not so much from the perspective of a corporate life, but from a personal one. Through constant cooperation, mutual support and understanding, geese wedge allows you to save tens of percent of energy of each human being.

When the captain gives the most by leading the V formation, cutting the air to make flight easier for the rest, the remaining members of the wedge cackle loudly while regenerating strength to do the same job later on.

I always tremble at the words of contestants of some popular TV shows,

“I am here to win, not to make friendships”, “There’s only me”, etc.

Do we really think we are so self-sufficient? What kind of winners generation is that?

I point out and, to quote Sir Ken Robinson, “Some activities give you energy and some take energy away. Nothing more.” make a statement that we can maintain relationships that either build up our energy or suck it. Now think: don’t you like to be encouraged? How these affect you: positive atmosphere of a café, home or a workplace? Does it immediately make you want to live?

Positive energy circulation is indescribably important. After all, just observing the positive action makes us feel better. We feel better when we see a teenage girl giving up a seat to an elderly, we feel better when a passing neighbour says, “Good morning!” Work in a nice team often makes us stay in the company, despite the low salary, and encouraging boss/mentor motivates you to face upcoming challenges. After all, everything depends on our motivation and priorities.

What lies within us?

If we take more time to think and wonder, we will conclude that it is not the mind that limits our actions but our own unordered emotionality.

How many people do I know have so called reverse cognitive bias? Meaning, people who sit at home with their Facebook open, only waiting for an ideal job to come knocking at their door, the job that will ask them to take it – they will complain and whine in the meantime – and when it finally comes they will let it leave. Quite a few. But I have to admit it that I admire their consistency for remaining in this state. There is this bit I do not understand. Why wait for an opportunity if you can create one and take it? But, I know that I know nothing.

I am of the opinion that the brief examples described above are an important element of both workology and personal life, and should be treated with particular attention. An analogy forms in my head as a summary:

action brings joy – no action means no joy. Act.

Originally published in Polish: here

Skomentuj

